ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#155917 02/22/05 01:37 PM
S
I'm new to doing work on my own. I was just wondering if you guys had any advise on meeting some gc's to work with on residential homes. Should I just call them out of the phone book and tell them I'd like to bid for their jobs?

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
#155918 02/22/05 03:54 PM
D
Sure, and architects might be another good source for prints to bid on.

Beware of low-bid work, though, and GCs can leave you waiting for money when you have past-due supplier bills on your desk.

Dave

#155919 02/22/05 11:02 PM
I
I've been known to do alot of different types of leg work to meet new GC's and hopefully get some of their business.

From actual pull names out of phone book and fax a Letter of Introduction about my company with follow ups either by phone or personal "drop in for a visit" trips to just driving around and spotting sites under construction and talking with supervisors and leaving a business card or just spotting empty lease spaces and taping my cards to the doors along with everyone else.

All I can say,it's starting to pay off. You have to do the leg work to get yourself known.