ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#15509 10/19/02 08:27 PM
L
Looee Offline OP
I'm a second year electrician student and I was wondering what actual electricians thought about PLC stuff. Pretty soon I have to choose a couple electives to finish out my classes for the last semester and I need to pick between a couple things. I can either pick a PLC class or a class on xformers and fire alarms and another on small business. The PLC is a 4 credit and the others are 2 credits each. It really comes down to PLC's or the Xformer and fire alarm class, I can't pick both. Right now I'm leaning toward the PLC class, but I'm not really sure if that would be a wise decision. Any ideas would be a lot of help for me.

Lee

#15510 10/19/02 08:39 PM
G
that would depend on what type of work you plan to pursue. if you are not going into industrial work take the xformer class because you will never see a plc.

#15511 10/19/02 10:13 PM
Personally, I would go for the PLC course, as a good grounding in these is essential,
as PLC-based equipment is becoming more
prolific and will continue to do so,in the years to come,this type of training for any
electrical persons will pay off,in the end.
[Linked Image]

#15512 10/20/02 06:18 AM
M