ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 228 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
D
Although I've been in business for myself for 20 years now, I'm a much better electrician than financial manager (but I'm learning). When a company has TV ads, custom-painted vans, sharp uniforms, and top-quality tools they have a higher overhead than mine. They will have higher rates. If they expect to stay in business they will also have a profit so they can build their business.

Personally, I'm glad for companies with overhead and charges greater than mine. If everyone worked out of Mom & Dad's house with a hacksaw and screwdriver, I'd be competing with that. This way I have a profitable business with a decent income and benefits.

Dave

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
E
It is possible that Mr X needs to charge these high rates. His overhead is off the charts. He has double full page ads in probably 20 yellow page books. He runs TV commercials during prime time and radio ads all day long.

I would like to thank Mr. X for raising the bar on pricing in our area.

Also, I am guaranteed to get the job if his guys have already quoted. Thank You Mr. X

A