ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
W
I'm a writer for an electrical trade magazine, and I'm working on an article on passing the electrician's journeyman test - but more specifically, I'd like to investigate how prevalent cheating is. If you cut corners or found a way to circumvent the system, email me - I'd like to hear your story.
Positive responses as to what you did to study and prepare for the test without cheating are welcome as well. All of your personal identification will obviously be withheld from the story.
firedancer53@hotmail.com

Cheat??
I did the apprenticeship thing, went to trade school at nite. Studied. Took a "Code Course" with a great instructor. Took the test and almost "aced" it. The way it was run, I think it would have been pretty hard to cheat, if you were so inclined.

After the test, I did the paper trail thru the State Board, got a Business Permit, and opened shop. Hired a guy, then another then another, etc.
In the interim, I got the bug to take the Electrical Inspectors Course. (NIGHTS).
Put the time in for the courses, and took the tests. (Three) We have 3 levels, ICS (1-2 family) HHS (Everything else) & Plan Review