ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 248 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#146087 10/13/06 04:12 AM
Trumpy Offline OP
Sorry,
I forgot to mention that before I took on the job as a Fire Safety Officer, I passed my Electrical Inspectors Exams here.
Isn't life so fast-paced these days?.
Since then I have inspected 2 houses re-wired by Electricians and both passed.
There used to be a thing here that you had to have 10 years and Advanced Trade behind you.
I had the Advanced Trade, just before they changed the wording, which is called Level 5 (Electrical Advanced) these days.
My one idea about exams here in NZ these days, is that they need a huge boot up the backside.
If you cannot score at least 80% in a exam, you are not fit for this trade.
People's lives are in your hands.
Would you like a 60% Electrician?

#146088 10/14/06 02:44 AM
R
Congratulations Mike.

I entirely agrre that the pass mark for electricians should be at least 80%.
In this day and age with all the PC nonsense, the pass rates are set too low.
Lifes are dependant upon good workmanship which includes testing all the aspects of the completed job as per the electrical regulations.