ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#143938 09/22/05 07:41 PM
G
Hey all. I'm a US electrician moving to Ireland. (Could even stop in England for a spell). Any advice about getting into the trade there? Any Irish Electrical Contractors on this site? I actually more interested in becoming an electrical estimator in Ireland/England. I can't find any schools/courses to take? If anyone can be of assistance I'd appreciate it! Thanks! (Newcastle United Football Club!!!!)

#143939 09/22/05 10:06 PM
Cat Servant
Yes, we have Irish members. Sometimes they even come to the chat room.

Prepeare to start learning from scratch. Everything is completely different. I'm not saying it's impossible- just more different than you can possibly imagine.

#143940 09/23/05 04:46 AM
B
Galway Electric,
there are a few courses available at most local Technical Colleges to get you a foothold within the trade over here.

BUT they will only give you a `grounding` within the trade, you really should try to find an Electrical Contracting company to work with for a while so as you can get used to the `way we do it over here`.

its like one thing that i have had a bit of trouble with, Grounded and Grounding conductors?? it took me a while but i got it! we use an Earth (or CPC) and a Neutral conductor,