ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 369 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
jusme Offline OP
Hi folks,

First a quick "hello" since I'm a long-time lurker but this is my first post. I'm not a professional EC but do have a degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering (wow, dangerous!). I've been fascinated by electricity for as long as I know, and having my Dad working at a power station during my formative years certainly helped light the fire. I progressed to electronics and then to IT (boo, hiss!) At the moment I'm working for what remains of the UK computer industry, formerly ICL, where we still make a meagre income from Mainframe computers. This won't last forever though, and a change of career may be on the cards...

Ok, to my question. Over the past couple of days the lights here at home have been flickering briefly, like they sometimes do in a thunderstorm, sometimes several times in succession a few seconds apart, other times not for a while. Working on the computer yesterday I noticed that the UPS was switching to battery for a few seconds each time too, and decided to try and find out what was going on, since this is most unusual and we're in the middle of town (Manchester, UK) with no local overhead wiring.

Finally managed to capture a blip on the 'scope:

[Linked Image from jusme.com]