ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#13945 09/14/02 06:59 AM
A
AndyC Offline OP
First of all this is my first post so hello everyone.
Apologies if this is not the correct forum for this but here goes.
I'm a fully qualified electrician working in the UK. I have family and friends who live in Dayton Ohio.It's always great to visit but it would be better if I could stay there.
If any one has any info on how to transfer my UK skills and qualifcations to US equivalents,I would appreciate the help.
Thanks

#13946 09/14/02 09:04 AM
P
Hi Andy,

I think you may have quite a hard time just getting a license issued on the basis of existing U.K. qualifications. If you have a browse through many of the older threads at ECN you'll see that in the States licensing requirements vary considerably from state to state, and even county to county and city to city.

You'll be fine on basic theory of course, but U.S. wiring is sufficiently different to Britain that you'd probably have to take a while to learn the intricacies of the NEC and American wiring before taking any of the exams.

We have a few ECN members in Ohio, so maybe they'll be able to give you some specifics for that state.

The other problem you'll face is getting a work permit and going through all the hassle of dealing with the INS.