ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#13357 09/01/02 10:43 AM
C
Hi all, I have been an apprentice now for almost a year doing mostly commercial work. I find myself in the market for a new cordless drill. My old Makita 9volt seems to be dying. My company does not supply cordless drills and claims they are not "required" but it is almost impossible to be productive without one and the prospect of borrowing someone else's 10 times a day is unpleasant. I simply cannot afford a Milwaukee, DeWalt, or even another Makita right now or in the foreseeable future.

I am definitely looking in the under $100 price-range for a complete package range (and thats going to break the bank at that). After doing what research I could I am leaning very heavily towards a Ryobi 14.4 which comes with 2 one-hour fast charge batteries and charger for $80 at Home Depot. It says it has a 2-year warranty but I cannot find out if that covers commercial work as opposed to a homeowner DIY-type work. I know the thing will look beat up on the outside within a manner of weeks.

Ryobi's website lists a local service-shop as an authorized warranty center which is also a plus (no sending it through the mail at big $$$ if it does need service).