ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 270 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#132183 05/23/05 08:48 PM
P
I've heard that there are programs that you can eithe run windows programs or windows itself in Linux. I'm looking for one that's relatively cheap or free that works on Xandros Linux. I'm still new to linux, and I'd like to run some windows apps/games in linux. Any suggestions?

#132184 05/24/05 04:59 AM
J
I've just implemented six such computers in our department, and it can work almost like magic.

VMWare Workstation 5.0 is very good at this and it costs $189.

There is an opensource alternative, called Bochs, which can be downloaded and compiled for free, provided you feel happy around the shell-based tools like make. It was not a simple configuration job and installation the last time I installed Bochs 2.0 on my Sun box -- I ended up needing to comment out quite a bit of the code in the C programs themselves. The advantage of Bochs is that it is truly platform-independent; it can run a Windows guest system upon Linux, Solaris, Macintosh and so on. The drawback is the performance penalty: it makes a pretty rapid dual G5 mac chug along like a PentiumII when I did some performance tests. I keep a copy going on eniac, my Sun machine, purely because I still love WordPefect for DOS, and it runs like a dream.