ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 298 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
Eandrew Offline OP
an electrical engineer told me (I'm a fourth year apprentice)that we get more amps per circular mil area with two smaller conductors than one larger conductor each have the same total circular mil area due to heat disapation. in short, the parallel setup, dissapates heat better. But then my forman says that the only reason we do it is for pulling reasons. But if that was true wouldnt you get get bigger pipe/ box etc. Who is correct or more correct?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

R
Look at the ampacities of the larger cables in Table 310.16. What is the ampacity of 250kcmil? 500kcmil? Does the cable that has twice the area have twice the ampacity?
Don(resqcapt19)

Don(resqcapt19)
E
Eandrew Offline OP
well, for a 250kcmil has ampacity of 215 amps
two 250 kcmil in parralel have ampacity of 430 amps.
Now, an equivelant area to two 250 kcmils would be a 500kcmil which has a ampacity of 320amps. A 110 amps less than two parralel 250 kcmil. given in same insulation types.

B