ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 260 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#108872 01/06/04 09:18 PM
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
I am a Master Electrician that has moved into engineering as an electrical designer. I am currently involved with an overhead to underground conversion project for our local utility. During the course of my work, I have to visit each location, look at the service, the panel board, etc, and document everything for the construction package. I have really run into some things that make you cringe. Here are a few.

This is an apartment building. The disconnect is 600 amp and fused to the max. The apartments have small children playing outside. The disconnect door does not have any interlocking capabilities on it, and the bottom is gone. What if a small child ran his arm into this or pulled the door open?

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

The following two are an old electrical room used for storage............
notice in the second picture the wire wired to the disconnect handle.......

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Here is a beauty. The tenant built a room inside a room and left approximately two feet of clearance. The panel is in the back. I had to get on my knees and crawl under the water pipe riser.

[Linked Image]

Here is some do it yourself wiring in the back of a jewelry store.