ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 269 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#107951 06/25/04 01:57 PM
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
I am an EE student working at Taco Bell. I know little about code compared to an electrician, but I know what is in the attached pics is wrong.
Pic#1 is a #10 spliced to a #14 Both stranded. The wire cap melted
Pic#2 and #3 Tie together. in 3, the new outlet is plugged into another outlet. From here, the hot and neutral are reversed. in the flex, the hot was meant to be green and neutral white, but since it was reversed, the green is neut and white is hot. It then goes into the timer in pic 2. Since the reversal, the neutral is switched. This somehow feeds a fan in the fry hood that is on a pressure switch so that the timer shuts off the fan and the pressure switch shuts off equipment. Also notice the "extra" wire coming from the timer. I'm not 100% sure of how the setup works, being that i dont know where all the wires go.
Richard, the repair guy, refused to fix the wire nut, elec tape used as KO covers, and scotch tape used as a breaker lockout. He installed this timer mess.