ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
P
Phil H Offline OP
I'd like to start by telling you that I am not an electrician, so my terminlogy and knowledge is not up to speed.

In a dwelling that has metal waterpipes used for or connected to the grounding electrode , are metal plumbing fixtue supply lines significantly safer than flexible plastic supply lines which are commonly installed. I realize that a functioning GFCI would provide protection, but how many people test GFCIs and what about locations where GFCIs are/were not required. Is the water itself considered a good enough conductor to effectively trip a typical breaker or fuse. This is not something I care to experiment with.

thanks in advance for any insight
Phil H

Tom Offline
Phil,

You're right about people not testing GFI receptacles. One survey showed that about 18 or 19% of GFI's no longer provide GFI protection.

The water would not be a good enough conductor to cause a breaker to trip or a fuse to blow, but it would probably allow enough current flow to get someone killed if the GFI doesn't function.

Tom

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
S