ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#103159 05/09/02 09:46 PM
Joe:

I thought I would take a moment to add these pictures to your hall of shame.

[Linked Image]

I am a senior electrical designer, and the consulting firm I work for was contracted to survey a local county park's buildings and equipment here in western New York.

The first picture is of a fueling depot for the park equipment. This fueling depot is used every day to fill the gas tanks of all sorts of equipment, pick-up trucks, mowers, graders, dump trucks etc.

Rather than use a conduit for support, note how gracefully the ROMEX cable is draped around the tank level gauge. 120 volt wires are wire-nutted together in open air. Hey, at
least it has a ground, and they even taped them all together!

A picture is worth a thousand code violations!

[Linked Image]

The second picture is of a water pump, in a pump house approximately 30 feet from the fueling depot. This is a view looking in the front door, at the main pump.

The flex conduit scrapes on the flywheel when running. The flex conduit is supported by the wires inside it, which are wound together and secured with MASKING tape.

The peckerhead cover is gone, completely